Sections on CodeHS are optimized for a single school year. The best way to keep your Teacher Page organized is to:

  1. Archive sections after the current school year ends, and

  2. Create new sections for the upcoming school year.

The sections on your Teacher Page are organized according to their school year. Over the summer, the school year will end and your sections will be grouped with the previous year. Any new sections will be created for the current school year.

CodeHS Teacher Page showing a grouping of 2020 and 2019 sections.

Courses vs. Sections

What's the difference between a Course and a Section?

  • Within CodeHS, a Course is a sequence of curriculum that your students will work through. Courses are made up of Assignments.

  • Each Course can have multiple Sections.

  • Within CodeHS, a Section is a group of students working on a Course.

  • An Assignment is any module, lesson or activity that students (within their Sections) work on as part of their Course.

In other words, a Section is a group of students (like a class), while the Course and Assignments are the curriculum content that they are working on.

If you would like to reuse the same course from year to year, you can do so by creating a new section.

After the School Year Ends

Your Teacher Page will be organized by school year. By default, the school year ends on June 30.

To Adjust the Section End Date:

  1. On your Teacher Page, click the three dots next to the section and choose Edit Section. This will take you to the Section Settings page.

  2. On Section Settings, scroll down to Start / End Date.

  3. Click End Date and select the new date you'd like your section to conclude.

After the designated school year end date, your sections will:

  1. Be marked as Concluded

  2. Be closed to enrollment (so no new students can join or drop)

  3. Automatically archive after 30 days

Concluded vs. Archived Sections

  • When a section is Concluded, no students can be added or dropped from that section. If the section is not archived, students can still access their work.

  • When a section is Archived, it is hidden from the Student Dashboard and students cannot access their work unless you un-archive the section.

Concluded sections are visible on your Teacher Page and are listed as Concluded:

Screenshot showing a list o sections with a Concluded section highlighted on the right-hand side

Creating New Sections

You can create sections at any time by clicking the Create New Section button on the top-right of your Teacher Page:

screenshot highlighting the green Create New Section button

Updating a Section's School Year

New sections will automatically be grouped according to the current school year. You can change a section's school year by clicking the three dots on your Teacher Page and choosing Edit Section:

Screenshot of Section Settings showing the School Year menu expanded to select a new school year.

You can also create sections directly from your Courses page if you'd like to create and manage multiple sections using the same course assignments and settings.

GIF steps through process of creating a new section from a course that you've already made

Related Article: Creating Courses and Sections

Archiving and Un-Archiving sections

You can archive and un-archive your sections at any time, and your sections will be automatically archived 30 days after your section's End Date.

If you’d like to view assignments or grades from an archived section, you can un-archive it to view this data.

Related Article: Archiving and Un-Archiving Courses and Sections

Still have questions? Contact our team at hello@codehs.com to learn more!

Did this answer your question?