Live Hour of Code Workshops

Join a live Hour of Code Workshop led by the CodeHS Team!

Although we are unable to do in-person school visits this year, we’re excited to be running virtual Hour of Code workshops for you and your students. An Hour of Code is a great opportunity to get your students excited about computer science!

You can view the full CSEdWeek Calendar and access the Zoom join links for each workshop below.

Workshop

Date & Time

This workshop will...

Zoom Join Links

(Please share with your students.)

Coding for a Litter-Free Community

Guest Speaker: Elena Guberman, Rubbish CEO

Mon, 12/7 @ 9am PT | 12pm ET

introduce students to how coding can be used to minimize litter and waste.

Recommended Skill Level: Beginner, Middle School

Join Here

Coding for Data Visualization

Guest Speaker: Blair Hutchinson, Product Manager at Tableau

Tuesday, 12/8 @ 11am PT | 2pm ET

teach students about the power of using data visualizations to display data in meaningful and easy to understand ways.

Recommended Skill Level: Advanced, High School

Join Here

Coding in Music

Guest Speaker: Grace Lu, CodeHS Engineer

Wednesday, 12/9 @ 8:30am PT | 11:30am ET

allow students to explore how coding is used in music creation by building their own dynamic eight-count beats and patterns with JavaScript blocks!

Recommended Skill Level: Beginner, Middle School or High School

Join Here

Supporting Artists with Code

Guest Speaker: Grace Lu, CodeHS Engineer

Wednesday, 12/9 @ 10am PT | 1pm ET

teach students how coding is used and has impacted the art community with real-world examples.

Recommended Skill Level: Beginner, High School

Join Here

Turtle Graphics with Tracy the Turtle

Thursday, 12/10 @ 8am PT | 11am ET

introduce students to the basics of programming by drawing shapes on your screen with Tracy the Turtle.

Recommended Skill Level: Beginner, Middle School or High School

Join Here

Creating Virtual Worlds

Friday, 12/11 @ 10am PT | 1pm ET

introduce students to the basics of building virtual reality worlds using HTML and the A-Frame JavaScript Library.

Recommended Skill Level: Intermediate to Advanced, High School

Join Here

2020 Hour of Code Workshop Recordings

[Coming Soon!]

How To Run An Hour of of Code Webinar [Recording]

Topics Covered:

  • Free CodeHS Hour of Code tutorials available
  • How to pick the right tutorial for your students
  • Tips on hosting a successful workshop
  • Other ways to engage your students during CSEdWeek

CodeHS Hour of Code Tutorials

Access all the CodeHS Hour of Code tutorials for free at codehs.com/hoc. This year, we added 3 new hour-long tutorials to our collections with the theme "Coding for Good." Check them out below.

  • Coding for a Litter-Free Community
  • Supporting Artists with Code
  • Coding for Data Visualization

Need help choosing the right Hour of Code tutorial for your students?

Reference the How to Choose the Right Tutorial Guide.

Additional Resources

Did this answer your question?